Top TV Song Last Week: Missing Piece by Vance Joy

Back in the top spot again is Grey’s Anatomy with an emotional song from indie folk singer songwriter Vance Joy. Another Grey’s character farewell called for a track to evoke nostalgia and leave viewers feeling hopeful for the next chapter.


Missing Piece

by Vance Joy

from Grey's Anatomy Soundtrack · Season 17 · Episode 15 · Tradition

End montage: Jo talks to baby Luna; Meredith th…


During last week’s end montage, Jo talks to baby Luna, Meredith thanks Amelia, and Jackson leaves Grey Sloan. The episode is full of flashbacks to Jackson’s time at the hospital and his growth and journey to where he’s heading next. As he takes his final drive by the ambulance bay, ‘Missing Piece’ continues.

“‘Missing Piece’ really was the missing piece to our scene,” shared music supervisor Kasey Truman. “When I heard it (as an unreleased track), I immediately sent it to our editors and producers.”

“It fit perfectly for the Jackson send off,” Truman continued. “An emotional and uplifting song, which shows how much love we have for him as a character.” 

‘Missing Piece’ was released as a single the day before the episode aired. The heartfelt and anthemic indie folk track was written during lockdown. The lyrics speak to the separation from loved ones due to travel restrictions. Vance Joy shared with American Songwriter, “I’m stoked it’s getting this moment in Grey’s,” he said. “It is a beautiful scene that features the song. I think the lyrics fit with the sentiment and I am just really happy that it’s going to be heard by everyone watching…which is a lot of people.”

‘Missing Piece’ is the first solo single Joy has released in over three years, co-written with Joel Little. The Australian indie folk singer began his music career playing open-mike nights in Melbourne at the end of the 2000s. Vance Joy–aka James Keogh–was pursuing a law degree when he put it on hold to pursue music instead. He chose the artist name Vance Joy from a character in Peter Carey’s novel ‘Bliss’. 

Joy released his debut EP, God Loves You When You’re Dancing, in March 2013. The catchy single ‘Riptide’ was an instant success and led him to sign with Atlantic Records. In 2013, Joy began touring with Taylor Swift on her 1989 tour and the following year released his debut, Dream Your Life Away, including popular singles like ‘Mess is Mine.’ In 2018, Joy released his second album, Nation of Two, including featured singles ‘Lay It On Me,’ ‘Saturday Sun,’ and ‘We’re Going Home.’

Vance Joy has had previously placements the 2015 film Paper Towns, Netflix series 13 Reasons Why, and of course Grey’s Anatomy season 14 among many others.


〉Listen now: Missing Piece by Vance Joy

〉More music by Vance Joy

〉Full list of songs featured in the Grey’s Anatomy soundtrack

Popular songs on Tunefind


Find a movie, TV show, video game or artist